THE LITTLE RED HEELS’ BLOG

One Red Paper Clip for barter!

Posted in min, Uncategorized by littleredblog on June 11, 2008

There’s a lot of crazy things happening around the world. And I mean, really crazy.

It started when I was googling for SingPost Postage Calculator and it brought me to this blog (http://harryman007.blogspot.com/2007_02_01_archive.html) who claimed that our beloved Singpost listed Cambodia as Kampuchea, Democratic Rep. Of, and the latter of course was wrong and in fact offensive as aptly put by the owner of the blog,

“Democratic Kampuchea” was the official name of the country during the genocidal Pol Pot regime during which almost half of the population was either killed, starved or worked to death.”

Urps, very grave and indeed unnecessary mistake. It’s like classifying Singapore as part of the Malaysian Federation. Urps.

Anyway, so I scrolled down a little bit more and came acrossed a post that says that someone is selling his identity. Which obviously isn’t right to me, for it undermines the heart and soul of what was taught in my course in NUS – Communications and New Media. Identity is important right?

So again, I googled and find out that this guy, Ian Usher, isn’t the first to pull such an act. But his, have to be one of the best I have to say. He is putting up for auction his house, his vehicles, his job, his friends and what has he at EBAY and intends to “walk out of my front door with my wallet in one pocket and my passport in the other, nothing else at all”.

Can you do that? I know I can’t. 

His ex-wife thinks he is abit mental. He probably is, giving away all that his life like that. But who is to judge? Perhaps identity isn’t that important as we all think it is.

The auction will start 22 June 2008 and will last for a week. You can read more about what’s in the package here: http://www.alife4sale.com/ (Isn’t it funny to talk about life as a tangible package that can be sold and purchased?)

So I googled somemore and came across a bundle of absurd things people do online. Absurd to “rational” beings but look who has the last laugh. If any, this one totally rock my socks: http://oneredpaperclip.blogspot.com/

The introduction of the website reads:

“My name is Kyle MacDonald and I traded one red paperclip for a house. I started with one red paperclip on July 12 2005 and 14 trades later, on July 12, 2006 I traded with the Town of Kipling Saskatchewan for a house located at 503 Main Street.”

And that was exactly IT. Barter your way up from a paper clip to a house! Unbelieveable? Believe it! I think it take a dose of luck and lots, like loads of gut to do something like this. Go read how he barter off each of his item, some as dumb as a door knob. Like huh.

So look, I have a red paper clip too! Anyone want to trade something with me? I will travel anywhere within Singapore, and all I want is a MacBook Pro and an iPhone (and maybe an iMac too just to complete the set). Leave me a comment!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Love love, Min

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jason said, on November 30, 2008 at 3:19 am

    The paperclip trading works, I have traded up to one year’s rent. Here is the ad in today’s KC Star http://www.kansascity.com/news/neighborhood/olathe/story/911516.html


Leave a Reply

