THE LITTLE RED HEELS’ BLOG

Three trends I wish will not befall us

Posted in fashion, min by littleredblog on May 19, 2008

It’s funny how just one year ago, leggings and skinnies are reserved for our mommas. Yes, we are all vulnerable victims to the greater fashion power out there. We are, although we try to deny the fact as much as we can. (There’s a reason why that pair of leggings/skinnies wind up in your wardrobe, hunny.)

BUT, however potentially vulnerable we may be, we should always try to exercise some form of prudence and know what’s hot and what’s not for us. Here’s what I’ve gathered, to my horrors, from mindless web surfing and magazine flipping.

1. Baggy jeans

The trend of the 70s. But I thought we have already dealt with it in the 90s and since abandoned them for good. Sigh. The thing about fashion, the phrase “for good” don’t seem to find it’s place in the dictionary. Trends come, go and the luckier ones, revive. I just wasn’t counting on baggy jeans to be one after the very horrid i-love-baggy-jeans experience in my secondary school days. Not cool.

Picture source: Dailymail.co.uk

The next worst thing that can happen? Bell bottoms. Unless you have long slender legs like that of Posh or Kylie, I say no go.

2. Cuff bangles on your ankles

Erm, no? This is much worse considering it’s baggy jeans PLUS cuff bangles at the wrong places. Put your bangles where they are supposed to be and preferably at your wrists. I’ve only seen it on Chanel runway (below) as of now. Hopefully it remains that way.

Source: Her World Singapore, May 2008

3. Half tinted sunnies

OK, I have mixed feelings towards this. Simply ’cause Nicole Richie look so fab in this. The original half tint sunnies is from Chanel and cost over US$1000. And even as I am typing this, I secretly wish to have one despite the rational me is telling me that it will probably be outdated few months down the road and that I will probably look silly in those half tint shades.

Source: celebritystyleblog.wordpress.com

 

Source: kaboodle.com

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Love love, Min

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jaims said, on May 21, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    can’t agree more!

  2. natalia said, on October 8, 2008 at 10:37 am

    i LOVE ths sunglasses…!i dont care about the cost…thr’r LOVELY!!!!!LOVE CHANEL!!!!!!

  3. Anonymous said, on February 21, 2010 at 8:28 am

    You should REALLY learn how to spell. Even I, who just moved to an english-speaking country 4 years ago can notice you glaring grammar and spelling mistakes such as it’s instead of its and don’t instead of doesn’t.

  4. littleredblog said, on March 10, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Urps. I am embarrassed. You did make me very afraid to write and be more cautious. I think that will make my english teachers very happy. :)

    Actually I will wish that you had view this as a personal space, it being a blog, and give more leeway to mistakes in grammar and spelling. But I understand it is not much an excuse so yes, thank you for your kind reminder! I will try to proofread more in future.

    Thanks for checking us out in any case! :)


Leave a Reply

